The Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) reveals 25 cities in the Philippines as Digital Cities 2025. This includes 3 cities in Mindanao: Zamboanga, Iligan, and General Santos.

According to DICT, these cities will be the center of focus for new economic development for the next three years. This initiative is geared to sustain the rapid growth of Information Technology and Business Process Management.

Digital Cities 2025 program is expected to determine the industry-readiness of new centers by creating and developing ICT hubs in identified locations.

“We believe that the Digital Cities 2025 program will help focal areas promote local participation in order to strengthen their economies and governance systems in the New Normal setting,” DICT Secretary Gregorio B. Honasan II said.

Together with the Centers of Excellence and Next Wave Cities, these digital cities will bring the Philippines a step closer towards becoming a more digitally-enabled nation, one that continues to be globally competitive and relevant as a prime investment destination.

Digital Cities 2025:
– Balanga City
– Batangas City
– Cabanatuan City
– Dagupan City
– General Santos City
– Iligan City
– Iriga City
– Laguna Cluster
– Laoag City
– Legazpi City
– Malolos City
– Metro Cavite
– Metro Rizal
– Olongapo City
– Puerto Prinsesa City
– Roxas City
– San Fernando City, La Union
– San Fernando City, Pampanga
– San Jose Del Monte City
– Tacloban City
– Tagbilaran City
– Tarlac City
– Tuguegarao City
– Urdaneta City
– Zamboanga City

Centers of Excellence:
– Bacolod City
– Davao City
– Iloilo City
– Metro Cebu
– Metro Clark
– Metro Manila

Next Wave Cities:
– Baguio City
– Cagayan de Oro City
– Dasmarinas City
– Dumaguete City
– Lipa City
– Naga City
– Sta. Rosa City

Tagged in: